Skip to content

WHAT? Christmas already?

October 30, 2010

Okay, it’s not even officially Halloween until tomorrow.  I still have all day today to figure out what my costume is going to be, so why do I find myself talking about Christmas already?

I’m the first person to become annoyed when the shelves are filled with Easter baskets in January and Halloween costumes on July 5th.  If I actually chose a costume on July 5th, I wouldn’t like it by October or it wouldn’t fit due to my inevitable weight gain.  Why retailers think we won’t buy our stuff from them if they aren’t the first to throw it out there shows their lack of confidence in the fact that we live in a very materialistic society.  The economy is sluggish, but people haven’t stopped shopping.

With all that said, I guess I’ve become a part of the problem because I’ve been talking about Christmas since August.  In September, I was asking retailers when they would have their lights and wrapping paper out on the shelves. The tree has been up for weeks and I’ve got Alvin and the Chipmunks stuck in my head on most days.

Before you dismiss me as a shopoholic, let me tell you my real motivation for getting ready for Christmas so early.  It’s about our troops.  Thousands of our men and women will be overseas on Christmas Day.  If we wait until the last minute to shop for their packages, our boxes won’t reach them until Valentine’s Day.

At Military Missions Inc, we spend three months doing nothing but Christmas.  We host events, we collect donations, we write cards, and we write a lot of customs forms.  In 2007, we mailed out 172 boxes and 756 quart sized unit bags.  The second year we sent out 1000 boxes.  Last year we sent out 2000 packages.  We hope to reach 5000 troops this year and we need your help.  You see, we rely on word of mouth to get our message out.  For every dime we could spend on advertising that would mean someone wasn’t getting a box for Christmas.

If you are in the Central Kentucky area, you can join us just about any day of the week between now and early December.  We will put you to work.  If you live elsewhere, we still need your help.  We need donations to pay for the postage and we need everyone to write letters and cards.  Every box contains 10-20 cards from all over the USA.  Did I mention the cards are the best part of the package?

If you know someone deployed, we will send them a box too.  Just find our website’s “add a hero” page to get them on the list.

At the very least, if you are one who has been blessed to live in this free nation, why not give back by reposting this and share the video. Start following this blog and then you will be the first to help us spread the word each day with our new posts.

Wouldn’t it be awesome to see something like this go viral?  I happen to think this message is a lot more worthy of earning a spot on Fox News than the latest Lady Gaga video.  Just sayin……

Here’s the youtube link you can repost as well!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwHTdkGIovA

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 12:12 pm

    This is such a worthwhile, great organization. Please try to come and help out any time that you can. Also, try to donate money to help send the packages overseas.

Leave a Reply

